top of page
  • Writer's pictureLiz Orr

2020 Resolutions Check-In

I haven’t posted my New Year’s resolutions yet, but now that I have been working on at least some of them for about a month I’d like to do a check-in. I didn’t finalize my goals at the start of the month. I let them develop as the month went on and as I was able to really get an idea of what I wanted to focus on this year. I tried to set my expectations for myself more reasonably than I have in the past. I think it will be good to do a check-in every month so that the resolutions aren’t something I only work on in the beginning of the year. Here’s a round-up of my resolutions and the work I have been able to put in thus far:


1. Swim More – I haven’t been able to work on this one yet due to the weather. My initial thought was to say that I plan on being more active, but I wanted to make it more specific so that I had an activity to focus on. I have been walking around the neighborhood more, but I am looking forward to being able to swim.


2. Wake up Earlier – I’ll be honest, this one has been the most difficult for me. I wanted to start waking up earlier so that I would have time to relax in the morning before heading to work, and so that I would not feel rushed while getting ready. Before the New Year there were days I would wake up just before 7 am. I have to leave the house by 7:20 am and typically I try to leave by 7:15 am. This never gave me enough time to eat breakfast or pack lunch. My plan was to wake up by 6 am or 6:15 am. I have only been successful a few days, but many of the morning I’ve been able to get up by 6:40 am. It’s a start at least! I’ve really been enjoying being able to sit down and eat breakfast every morning.


3. Pack Lunch More Often – Committing to my previous resolution is going to help me succeed with this one as well. I’ve been doing better with packing my lunch. There have been a couple days where I have had to buy lunch from the cafeteria, but typically it has only been once a week. I usually pack either leftovers or PB&J sandwiches.


4. Cook More – HelloFresh has come in handy for this resolution. I wanted to start cooking more at home so that I would hopefully eat healthier and because it became tiring stopping on my way home from work every day. Since the smallest portion size is two for HelloFresh, I always have leftovers. I love that there are so many options from which to choose. One week there were tacos with kiwi salsa that were delicious! I’ve also been eating a lot of different kinds of bowls, like burrito bowls. On days that I don’t have a HelloFresh meal, I have been making simple dinners like eggs with toast or fruit. I also will make the occasional smoothie for dinner when I want something on the lighter side.


5. Promotion – I have made progress for this one as I have applied for the next level at work. I had the interview two weeks ago and I should hear about the post this week. This would be so exciting! I have been in my current position for the last year and I am really looking forward to the next challenge.


6. Solo Trip – I am working on figuring out the details for this resolution. I have a trip planned with my friend in May, so my solo trip would need to be later in the year. I originally was thinking of going to the beach, but I may do a winter trip instead.


Happy first week of February!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

8 Changes I’ve Made to My Budget

I have never budgeted before, but I decided it was time to start paying more attention to my expenses. I have loans I would like to make a dent on, and I wanted to see if it was possible to half-lease

Five Healthy Changes I Have Made

1. Drink More Water: I honestly feel better when I drink more water. I have a 32 oz water bottle that I keep with me at work, bring with me on errands, take to the barn and keep by my side at home on

January Favorites

Happy Saturday! My plan was to sleep in this morning. Now here I am writing this post at 7 am while eating a bowl of Special K Red Berries (my new obsession) and watching The Circle on Netflix for the

bottom of page